Why I blog.


Some of you may know me, others may be new into the world of mordfilm. But there may be a lingering question in your mind, “Why is he blogging?”

Well, I have recently been contemplating the status of humanity in a whole. I have thought that we are on a self destructive course, and are on the verge of creating a catastrophe amongst ourselves.

I thought why shouldn’t I create a blog that showcases some of these thoughts, and also showcases some of the finer things in life. Some of the things I enjoy, which others may enjoy as well. I am personally into art, film, music, television, reading and have dabbled into the field of paranormal investigation.

“Paranormal Investigation? What are you, one of the Ghost Hunters I see on TV, or one of the Ghost Busters?”

Well no.

Back in 1999, I was in the U.S. Army, and stationed in Fort Bragg, North Carolina. My family and I experienced something that was there, but also not there at the same time. Basically we shared the house with the spirit of a small boy. He showed himself to each of us at different times.

My wife first experienced him, when both of our boys were spending the night at a friends house. My wife and I were enjoying a film, when I herd her say, “it is late, get into bed!”

I looked at her, and asked her “Who are you talking to? Both of the boys are spending the night at a friends house.”

Her face went pale, as she realized this, and then told me that she had just seen a boy looking at her from our stairs. Peaking around the corner, as if trying to sneak a peak of what it was we were doing.

Later I was lying on the couch, watching television, when someone walked directly between me and the television, when i tried to focus on what it was, It was gone. It happened so fast, but I know there was something. It was exactly as if someone had walked from my just outside my field of vision, and directly between me and the television, and simply vanished before I could focus. At first I thought it was our cat, and called out for him, looking around the room. But when I called, he came trudging down the stairs, and leaped into my lap.

Our son also experienced him, however it is through him, we know the approximate age of the spirit. He was one day playing in his bedroom with some of his action figures, when he says another boy, also about 11 or 12 years old, came into the doorway, and asked if he could play with him. My son says he looked at the boy, and said “No. I don’t know who you are.” He says then the boy turned around and walked toward the stairs. Later he came down stairs and asked who it was that came up to play with him, thinking we had let a neighbour boy into the house. We explained that no one had come in the house all day.

Later he says that he was asleep in his bed, and awoke to a figure standing at the foot of his bed. There was a street light outside of his window, that he often used as a night light, and it was illuminating the figure, which was about the same size as the boy from months before, but this time it was wearing a black hooded sweat jacket, with the hood up. He could not make out the face, and thought it was me playing a mean trick on him. He said to it, “Dad, stop it you are scaring me.” and pulled the covers over his head. Seconds later he looked again, and the figure had just vanished. Without the sound of the door closing, or anything.

It was these that got me interested into looking into what may have caused them. I look into reports of ghostly apparitions where I am, and enter into the investigations with a scientific approach. I don’t believe in ghosts, but am open to the thought should I find irrefutable evidence. However to this day I have found nothing I would consider evidence. Every investigation I have conducted I can count everything to being either Natural in origin, or something created by the house itself, IE: Heating ducts knocking, settling of the floors in cold weather, Etc.

I am a huge film fan as well. I am always looking into the films being worked, and coming out soon. I love the challenge of looking for information on upcoming films. As well as information on films only in the planning stage. Some places on-line offer information, and rumours of the films currently green lit by the studios. There are also some places on-line, not too well known, where it seems some of the people responsible for the production of the films are posting information about the film they are working on, without the studio’s knowledge.

Sifting through this knowledge is difficult. As some of it seems to be blatant attempts to discourse the person reading it. There is also some information that seems to be relevant. However if someone can spot the actual correct information on-line, they need to remember that films are like amoeba’s. it is a constantly shifting entity. Scripts are always being re-written, even during the filming of the film itself. a scene may change drastically in the course of a day, that alters the entire outcome of the film.

So I love trying to find this information out. It is difficult, but I also thought I could provide a place for other people to come to a single location, and read the actual reports, and information I am finding on films they are excited are coming out, as much as I am.

When I can I am also going to provide information on some of the music that I love. Most people know me as a fan of the Heavy Metal Genre. However most don’t know that my actual favourite music is actually 60’s and 70’s guitar rock. Give me Led Zeppelin, Jimmi Hendrix, Grand Funk Railroad, Blue Oyster Cult, Bad Company, Iron Butterfly, Triumph, Deep Purple, Eagles and The Greatfull Dead any day over the heavy metal I also listen to.

I just find it sometimes weird how someone will get typecast into a certain genre of music. I also find it strange how people typecast the fans of certain music. It is also true with Heavy Metal.

I work each year at a few heavy metal festivals here in Bavaria, Germany where I live. I get the chance to work directly with the musicians themselves. I have found that metal musicians are some of the nicest people I have ever met in my life.

It is amazing, these people sing about death, anxiety, murder, and have fans banging their head to the fast and pounding music they produce. However I believe that fans of Heavy metal actually use the music itself as an output for their own anxiety, and fear and everything else negative in their lives.

People will often times look at heavy metal fans, who dress dark, wear allot of leather, often have piercings in their face, some also dress in Gothic style clothing, and judge them as being evil or someone to avoid. I always challenge people to actually approach these people and start a conversation with them. People will be amazed how intelligent they are, also how friendly these people are.

Television is also one of my passions. I love watching crime shows first of all. I also watch other shows such as dramas, and comedy shows. You may find that I sometimes will refer to one of these in one of my blogs.

So, you now know why it is I decided to blog myself on the  internet. I think I have something to say to the world that I think some of the people out there may also want to read and know.

I hope this has given a little more insight to me, and who it is I am, and why I do what I do, and invite you, the loyal reader, to ask me questions, and see if there is something you would like me to cover. I am open to everything you are, and look forward to reading your thoughts as well.

I thank you all for reading, and as always…

Peace.

Lance

About Lance "Magic" Goolsby

I may be best known for being Co-host of the Global Detection Adventures podcast, as well as my youtube channel, Detecting Bavaria with Lance and XP Deus. I am founder/creator and director of the Global Detecting Adventures (GDA) site and videos as well as a metal detector myself. I am also an avid Star Wars fan and collector of Star Wars toys and Memorabilia. I am now co-host of the Holocron of the Whills, A Star Wars Talk Show. I am a father, metal detector, comic collector, toy collector and many more things.

Posted on November 15, 2011, in Lances Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I respect your opinion, Leave a comment.

